Clearing a communal compost bin

Today I cleared the abandoned and misused communal compost bin where I dig to compost.

When I first started working on the area, I didn’t know there was a communal bin as it was hidden behind the over-grown bushes. It was full. Full of mostly large pieces of plants that would take too long to breakdown. Also there were plastics and paper cups etc. So my first task for the communal compost bin project was to clear it up and start it again with a better balanced ingredients in the bin.

After removing 4 paper sack full of stuff, I left some good components inside then mixed with used coffee ground and Bokashi tea (ideally I wanted to use a proper EM liquid but I think Bokashi tea would do). I am now going to look after the bin and looking forward to see what we get in future.

img_0375image

