Grow Fest Glengall Wharf Garden

I recently took a part in Grow Fest at Glengall Wharf Garden to introduce people about Bokashi composting together with people from Bankside Open Spaces.

So many people including those who were at the different stalls from different green organisations were interested in Bokashi composting.  And it was such a satisfying day for me to meet so many who were keen to compost and reduce kitchen waste at home.

There were yummy food, work shops and loads of green information.

I came home really inspired but at the same time very frustrated about the fact that Southwark council simply is not keen to help people especially those who live in flat to manage our kitchen waste despite the fact that there are so many people who live in flats! Two days before the Grow Fest I spoke to commercial department of Veolia who is responsible for recycling in our borough but again had a very unsatisfying answer.

But I won’t give up. I’m sure there is something I can do. I want to thank Bankside Open Spaces Trust for the amazing support. And Grow Fest made me realise that there are people out there who are also frustrated and passionate about composting and reducing methane gas carbon foot print from kitchen waste.  I also would like to thank to EM Sustainable Living for providing us really interesting information and sample Bokashi bran.

